Frustrated.

The other day, I received an email from Travisa, the company that we used to get our Indian visas last summer. I almost passed it off, until I noticed the subject line: Passport Expiration Reminder. My interest was piqued. I instantly got all defensive because I KNEW that my passport didn’t expire until September! 

I opened the email and sure enough: it informs me that there are countries that won’t let you into the country if your passport expires within six months. After a Google search, it turns out that India is, in fact, one of them. Since I will be entering the country in May, and May is four months before September, this means that SURPRISE I have to get my passport renewed BEFORE my trip, which was totally unexpected. 

I am a little frustrated about this. First of all, it’s about $150 that I have to pay. That’s $150 that I could have given to the ministries or something else WAY better than giving it to pay for a passport. Second, I am just completely flabbergasted as to why an expiration date on a legal document wouldn’t be honored…what’s the point of having one if a country is going to tell you that they won’t let you in at immigration if it expires in less than six months!? 

Anyways. Though I am frustrated, it is something that has to be done…and SOON! Courtney and I leave in right at two and a half months and I now have to get my passport renewed, AND get it back in time to send off for an Indian visa! 

(And PS mom, I guess this is an “I told you so” as to why I didn’t send off for a visa earlier — it wouldn’t be valid in a new passport! ;P)

Please pray that there will be no complications and everything will come together speedy fast! 

About Amber

Life is better when it's full of joy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

