$50 Blessings!

I work every Saturday morning in what I sometimes refer to as coffeeland. I get there around 6:30 AM and get off around noonish. Every Saturday morning. Since I started this shift last summer, I can count on one hand the number of Saturday mornings I have NOT worked that shift.

And to be honest, I love it. It’s my favorite shift of the week. Sure, getting up so early isn’t the best part. But once I get going, I get to bake, make choices for the day (coffee, music, tea, etc.), and I have a pretty predictable morning crowd full of regulars that I adore.

However, today was a bit of a different story.

I didn’t get much sleep last night (which is completely my own fault…darned Netflix!) so I started the day off pretty darn tired. We also had a big order that had to be delivered by 7:30…so that meant having to get to the shop a little earlier than normal and getting all of that made.

As the morning went on, it got worse and worse. I was just flat out exhausted, didn’t wanna do anything, but yet customers still kept walking in the door and pastries kept selling. Things still had to be cleaned, and I still had responsibilities which I went ahead and fulfilled.

By the time noon rolled around, I was worn out. I finished up some things and dumped my tip jar out. I was pleasantly surprised to have a decent size pile of ones, but as I started sorting through them I noticed one bill that looked different:

At first, I just passed it off as one of those Gospel tracts that I have received in my tip jar millions of times that look like thousand dollar bills. But as I looked closer, I realized that this was the real deal!

It had been folded up pretty small and was in the bottom of the jar. So, someone intentionally left me a $50 tip! Talk about a blessing! I was shocked, to say the least. I don’t have any idea who it came from, other than the fact it came from God! He totally knew that I was in need of a blessing today!

I quickly determined that though it would be easy to go to Target and blow it, this was given to me as a blessing and I needed to use it to be a blessing as well. So, this money is going directly towards my trip to India where I can use that $50 to invest in the precious children there!

It definitely put a smile on my face, and reminded me to be grateful for all blessings! Matt Redman once said in a song that has always been one of my favorites:

“Every blessing You pour out I’ll turn back to praise…”

That is exactly what I want to do with this money. So, if the anonymous tipper is somehow reading this: rest assured knowing that your blessing is NOT going to waste. It lifted me up, and your blessing will be used to be a blessing in India! Bet you didn’t expect how far that simple act would reach when you did it, eh? :)

About Amber

Life is better when it's full of joy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

