So much brighter living in Your world

I wrote this a few weeks back, and just haven’t felt up to publishing it yet.

I’m going to warn you.

It’s passionate.

It’s strongly worded.

And if it doesn’t move your heart, check your pulse because you may not have one…

May you read this, may you think, and may you allow yourself to be changed because of it.

Some faces have been on my mind a LOT lately, as my trip nears:

And with these faces that have been on my mind has also been the reality of the world these faces live in. A world of darkness. An impoverished lifestyle full of hunger, disease, and need. All the things we hear about and see on the tv commercials – it’s real life for millions of people living on the very same earth as us!

Millions of people don’t have clean water. Millions don’t have a refrigerator AND pantry full of whatever food they could want. Millions didn’t know how they would feed their family dinner tonight. Millions ate trash today. Millions will sleep on the street tonight. Millions live in literal trash heaps. Millions have never been given anything clean, let alone anything new. Millions will never be given presents or cake on their birthday. Millions can’t go to the doctor when they have a fever. Millions will never brush their teeth.

This is the reality of millions of lives, and it’s going on just across some water from us!

I wish, truly wish, that I could keep this from happening. I wish that every child grew up with parents who loved them, cared for them, and were able to comfortably support them. I wish every child had enough food, access to health care, and a warm bed to sleep in at night after a clean shower and wake up to adequate clean clothes. I wish no parent had to worry how they would feed their family that day. There is SO much that I wish, even more so since I have been in the midst of this world and seen it with my own eyes, touched this lifestyle with my own hands.

Here I sit on my couch, in my heated house, on my laptop (one of four computers in the house right now), looking at a nice television, after driving home from Applebee’s after working a great, steady job in my nice car, to a house in one of the nicer neighborhoods in my town. I’m wearing socks, nice boots, nice jeans, a warm sweater, and had a warm coat to wear in the snow earlier. The Blackberry filling in for my broken Droid is sitting right next to me, and I have my own bathroom with an indoor toilet, clean shower, and toothbrush within eyesight.

I am SO blessed, and I feel bad. Because there is so much more that I could be doing! I don’t know how one person, even one family, could spend so much money on one vehicle that will last a few years while millions could be fed with that amount of money for a lifetime. I don’t know how we in America (myself definitely included!) cannot be content with SO much less for the sake of millions of other people having a chance at survival. For the sake of millions having food tonight. For the sake of millions getting to crawl into a bed. For the sake of millions getting medication to cure a disease. For the sake of millions getting a chance to simply live.

That’s my soap box, but I believe strongly in it. I’m preaching to the choir though, because there is SO much more that I could be doing. SO much stuff that I could, should, be content without. And I need to evaluate my life and see what I can do to make that happen.

“Oh God I just want to love on everyone
All I have is Yours to give so let the people come

It’s so much brighter living in Your world
Savior what You did for me
You gave me something I want everyone to see
When we struggle and it all goes wrong
Only You can make it right
So I say
Oh oh oh oh oh
I’m learning to be the light
Whoa, whoa
I’m learning to be the light
Whoa, whoa
I’m learning to be the light”

 

About Amber

Life is better when it's full of joy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

